South Gower takes its name from Admiral the Hon. John Leveson Gower, second son of the first Earl of Gower, 1740-1792. He distinguished himself as Commander of Quebec and at the relief of Gibraltar in 1782 and was Lord of the Admiralty from 1783-1789. South Gower was surveyed in 1799 and incorporated in 1834, although people were settled in the area much earlier. Tradition holds that the earliest burial in the present South Gower Cemetery was in 1797, a first nations man whose frozen remains were found in the bush.
Phineus Pelton came to Upper Canada from the United States in 1801 under Royal Proclamation and settled on Lot 6 Concession 4 with four sons and four daughters. Peltons Corners, the family after which the community is named, once supported a school, store, cheese factory, blacksmith shop, several sawmills as well as a Baptist and a Presbyterian church .
Peltons Corners Historical Walking Tour
This property was originally constructed as a store and post office on the stage coach route from Prescott to Bytown. It may have been that operated by Elijah Pelton. Previous owners’ Gid and Jessie Percel nicknamed it the ‘coldest house in Canada’. They once erected a ‘tent’ around the stove to stay warm one winter. This field stone structure is built in the Gothic Revival Style, c. 1870 and retains many original features including six over six windows, the transom and sidelights around the front door, the stone voussoirs over the doors and windows as well as the unique pillars that support the front porch. The three pillars on each outer corner are unusual.