The North Grenville Police Services Board is a five member civilian body that oversees the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP), Grenville Detachment.

The Board is responsible for setting the overall objectives and priorities for the provision of police service in the Municipality, after consultation with the Detachment Commander. It is also responsible for choosing and monitoring the performance of the Detachment Commander, overseeing the contract for service between the Municipality and the OPP, receiving monthly performance statistics of crime and prevention initiatives and for preparing a business plan.

What is the Police Services Board?

Every municipality in Ontario that receives, under contract, police service from the OPP has a choice under provisions of the Police Services Act to establish an independent civilian board to provide local governance. The Board represents North Grenville’s interests towards effective and efficient police service and are accountable to the Ministry of Community Safety & Correctional Services and the Ontario Civilian Police Commission located in Toronto.

The North Grenville Police Services Board is a member in good standing with the Ontario Association of Police Service Boards

The Board has five members: two members of the North Grenville Council, two citizens appointed by the Province as community representatives and one citizen appointed by Municipal Council as a community representative.

The current members of the Board are:​

  • Municipal appointees
    • Gregory Brown
  • North Grenville Council representatives
    • Nancy Peckford, Mayor
    • John Barclay, Deputy Mayor (Acting Chair)
  • Secretary/Treasurer to the Board
    • Hillary Geneau

The Council members and the citizen appointment by Council serve for the duration of the Council term of office. The Provincial appointees serve up to three year terms, which expire at various times. At the first meeting each year, the Board appoints a Chairperson for that year. 

ontario provincial police station in kemptville

Need to Report a Non‑Emergency




ng logo white

Accessibility Statement

Municipal Office
285 County Road #44,
PO Box 130
Kemptville, ON K0G 1J0

Monday through Friday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm

General Inquiries

Arena Staff (business hours)
613-258-9569 ext 141 or 175

Arena Staff (evenings/weekends)
613-316-2451 or 613-316-5010

After-hours Emergency Number

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.